Nevada Demerit Point System
The Nevada DMV operates an extensive demerit point system as part of their driver improvement program. When the DMV receives a conviction notice from a court, the offense is entered on your driving record and demerit points are assigned. When 12 months have elapsed from the date of a conviction, the demerits for that violation are deleted from the total demerits accumulated. Convictions are never deleted and stay on your permanent driving record.
When you reach 3 or more points you will receive a written notice from the DMV. If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by completing a DMV-approved traffic safety course but only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law.
When you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months. You will be mailed a certified letter before your license is suspended and have the right to a hearing through the Office of Administrative Hearings.
Out-of-state citations for Nevada drivers: You should contact the court of jurisdiction for possible plea bargain arrangements. Any conviction will become part of your Nevada driving record. Out-of-state convictions do not generate demerit points.
Out-of-state drivers: You should contact the court of jurisdiction for possible plea bargain arrangements. Nevada courts may or may not accept out-of-state traffic schools. If you have already paid the citation or have been convicted of an offense, you should contact your home state DMV for their policy on demerit points and traffic safety schools./course/course.php" onclick="eraseCookie('selfsubmitstateform'); eraseCookie('coursestate');">Get Started Now!