Driver License Point System
When you get a Missouri ticket, the Department of Revenue (DOR) will add points to your driving record based on the seriousness of the violation. You can have some of these points removed from your Missouri driving record by taking an approved driver improvement course. Most moving violations carry a penalty of 3 or 4 points.
|Violation Point Values|
|Careless & Imprudent Driving (Section 304.016 .4, RSMo)
|Knowingly Allowing an Unlicensed Driver to Operate a Vehicle
|Felony Involving a Motor Vehicle
|Obtaining a Driver License by Misrepresentation
|Operating a Vehicle With a Suspended or Revoked Driver License
Out-of-state convictions for Missouri drivers: Points are assessed to a Missouri driving record according to Missouri laws if a person receives an out-of-state violation.
Out-of-state drivers: If you are an out-of-state driver that received a citation in the state of Missouri, we advise you to check your state's requirements with your state's appropriate government agency before taking the DIP course.
When You Accumulate Too Many Points
If you accumulate too many points in a given time period, the DOR will notify you. If you accumulate 4 points in 12 months, they will send you an advisory letter, warning you of your unstable status. If you ignore the warning and get 8 more points in 18 months, the DOR will suspend your drivers license.